37th Annual Louisiana Association of Basketball Coaches Awards Banquet

May 7, 2011 Embassy Suites Hotel Baton Rouge, Louisiana

BATON ROUGE --- A former LSU star player, along with a long-time high school basketball tournament administrator, were the major honorees at Saturday's 37th Annual Louisiana Association of Basketball Coaches Awards Banquet.

Inducted into the Louisiana Basketball Hall of Fame was Kenny Higgs of LSU.

The other major honoree was the long-time coordinator of the LHSAA Top 28 state basketball tournament in Lafayette, Gerald Hebert, who won the LABC's prestigious Mr. Louisiana Basketball award. This award is given annually to someone who has made a significant, long-term contribution to the game of basketball at any level in the State of Louisiana.

Also honored at the banquet were Louisiana's major college, small college, junior college and high school basketball players and coaches of the year, along with the top pro player from the state.

Higgs was a two-time honorable mention All-American, three-time second team All-Southeastern Conference and three-time All-Louisiana selection while at LSU in the 1970s. He was also the Louisiana Freshman of the Year in 1975. He finished his career as the third leading scorer in LSU history, with 1,896 points for a 17.9 average, and set a school and SEC record with 645 career assists for a 6.08 average.

Higgs averaged 13.7 points in 1978, 17.7 points and an SEC-leading 8.85 assists in 1977, 22.2 points and 6.65 assists in 1976, and 18.1 points in 1975. After college, he was selected by the Cleveland Cavaliers in the third round of the 1978 NBA Draft and played three years in the NBA.

Hebert was the coordinator of the LHSAA Top 28 state basketball tournament at the Cajundome in Lafayette for the past 15 years. He was primarily responsible for transforming the Top 28 into, arguably, the premier attraction in the state involving high school athletics.

Hebert is best known for his continual efforts to enhance the overall Top 28 experience and to create a true Final Four-type environment for both the participants and fans alike. While in Lafayette, the Top 28 shattered previous attendance records, drawing 12 of its top 16 largest crowds, including the top six crowds of all-time.

The LABC also presented the Pete Maravich Memorial Award, honoring Louisiana's Major College Player of the Year, to junior forward Patrick Richard of McNeese State. This season Richard was a first team All-Southland Conference, NABC All-District and All-Louisiana selection, while averaging 16.1 points and 6.4 rebounds and leading the Cowboys to the SLC

championship. He had ten 20-point games, three double-double games and scored in double figures in 28 of 31 games. His single game highs were 24 points, 16 rebounds, 7 assists, 5 steals and 4 three-point field goals made.

Coach Dave Simmons of McNeese State received the Tommy Joe Eagles Memorial Award as Louisiana's Major College Coach of the Year. In his fifth season he led the Cowboys to the Southland Conference regular season championship, the finals of the SLC Tournament and the first round of the NIT with a 21-12 record. This was the school's most wins, first conference title and first post-season berth in nine years, earning Simmons SLC and NABC District Coach of the Year honors.

The Bob Pettit Award, which is given to Louisiana's Professional Player of the Year, was presented to Paul Millsap of the Utah Jazz. In his fifth year in the NBA, the former Louisiana Tech star averaged 17.3 points and 7.6 rebounds and shot 53.1% from the field (10th in the NBA). Millsap had 19 double-double games and had single game highs of 46 points, 18 rebounds and 6 steals.

Ryan Brock of Loyola received the Louisiana Small College Player of the Year award after being named a second team NAIA All-American, first team All-Louisiana selection and the Southern States Athletic Conference Divisional Player of the Year, while averaging 22.2 points (4th in the nation) and 5.1 rebounds. Coach Chad McDowell of LSU-Shreveport, who was named the Louisiana Small College Coach of the Year, directed the Pilots to a No. 4 ranking in the final NAIA regular season national poll, the Red River Athletic Conference tournament championship and the second round of the NAIA Tournament with a 30-4 record.

Tydrick King and Coach David Francis of Southern-Shreveport were honored as the Louisiana Junior College Player and Coach of the Year, respectively. King averaged 19 points and 12 rebounds and was the Miss-Lou Conference Player of the Year. Francis, who was also the MLC Coach of the Year, led the Port City Jags to the MLC regular season and tournament championships and to the finals of the NJCAA Region 23 Tournament with a 26-5 record.

2011 LABC Honorees:

Louisiana Basketball Hall of Fame Inductee: Kenny Higgs, LSU

Mr. Louisiana Basketball: Gerald Hebert, LHSAA Top 28 Tournament

Bob Pettit Award for the Louisiana Professional Player of the Year: Paul Millsap, Utah Jazz

Pete Maravich Memorial Award for the Louisiana Major College Player of the Year: Patrick Richard, McNeese St.

Tommy Joe Eagles Memorial Award for the Louisiana Major College Coach of the Year: Dave Simmons, McNeese St.

Louisiana Small College Player of the Year: Ryan Brock, Loyola

Louisiana Small College Coach of the Year: Chad McDowell, LSU-Shreveport

Louisiana Junior College Player of the Year: Tydrick King, Southern-Shreveport

Louisiana Junior College Coach of the Year: David Francis, Southern-Shreveport

Louisiana High School Players of the Year:

Class AAAAA: Javan Felix, St. Augustine

Class AAAA: T.J. Price, Salmen

Class AAA: D'Andre Martin, Richwood Class AA: Ricardo Gathers, Riverside Class A: Howard Wilson, North Central Class B: Marvin Frazier, Jr., Zwolle

Class C: Zikiteran Woodley, Pelican

Louisiana High School Coaches of the Year:

Class AAAA: Allen Collins, John Ehret Class AAAA: Jeremiah Williams, Bossier

Class AAA: Juan Lumas, Holy Cross Class AA: Greg Hill, Donaldsonville

Class A: Butch Fontenot, North Central

Class B: Randy Carlisle, Castor

Class C: James Holmes, Family Christian